FFJMOORE Big Blue Engine rebuild

ffjmoore

Coast to Coast
DTT BOTM WINNER
Well i picked up another 125 the other day. Wife was not happy. The bike came with 2 retro helmets so i told her i bought the 2 helmets and the guy threw in the bike for free!.....I dont think she believes me but i still have the bike so life is good.
IMAG0013.jpg

got the bike home and introduced Her (lets call her Lola for now) Lola to her brother.
IMAG0018.jpg

Needs a new tube.
I was told compression was 40 psi.
Put some oil in the motor, cylinders and head and got a reading of 200!
IMAG0020.jpg

Rebuilt the carb and i would not start.
Did the timing and checked the spark. Spark was weak. So i swaped out the coil and condenser from my parts bike put in a new plug and it fired up. Re checked compression its at 175. The book says 170. so im good. Just need to try and put a new tube in, i have never done that before, then i will spin it around the block a few times. Will post video.
IMAG0015.jpg

Re: FFJMOORE 74 CB125 Lola

Starting to sort out the parts i need for a 12v conversion. I have the new stator, i have a 12 regulator/rectifier and i know how im going to wire it. Blinkers are easy and i have a 12v led taillight im going to run. The hard part is the headlight. I would like to keep the bucket and just swap the light but its not that easy to find a replacement light that is 12v. Im looking into a CB160 light or possibly changing the whole thing out for an RD125 bucket and light. ANybody got any leads on that kinda stuff?

I'm not too sure if they have the same headlight bucket size, but the '84+ models are 12V, so you may want to look into finding a new bulb for it. Also, I've been getting some parts from various eBayers in Thailand, so they might have a 12V light that'll fit.