76 XL250 "Cafuro" - DONE WITH PICTURES!

Mark in Seattle

You must go too far, to know what is far enough
Hi All, Its my first build! Love cafe racers but thought I'd try something a little different, so I'm starting with a 76 Honda XL250. Partially because I needed a bike small enough to get down the stairs into my cellar shop! I plan to do a cafe + enduro mashup thing (a "cafuro?"). I suppose that's close to a street tracker but I have a few ideas I haven't seen, so what the heck. Here is the bike, bought off Craigslist, actually had to pay a full $500 for a running and titled one, I was surprised it was that much but still people love 'em here in the soggy Northwest. (funny I think another local Jake73 is building a brat tracker from one, must be a seattle thing!)

IMG_1531 by Mary Mack & Mark, on Flickr

The aformentioned stairs:

IMG_1798 by Mary Mack & Mark, on Flickr

the bike in the basement:

IMG_1802 by Mary Mack & Mark, on Flickr

I won't bore you with a lot of teardown pics and stories of how crusty she was, but this is one I had to show. Thats not grease, its melted plastic/glue from some incorrect pipe repair wrap the previous owner used. Its sticky like tar and resistant to most solvents, took forever to get off!

DSC07297 by Mary Mack & Mark, on Flickr

I'll be posting lots in the next weeks to bring you up to where I am now, the bike is to the frame and I'm fabricating parts and polishing, etc. Thanks for looking!

Re: 76 XL250 "Cafuro"

I'm local and the most informative and helpful pain in the ass you'll ever meet .

~kop

This is my rough photoshop version of where I'd like to go with it, yes I know the correct colors for the HRC logo are red and blue, but I already own an 84 Interceptor 500, I don't need TWO red, White & Blue Hondas! So I'm thinking I'll stick with red/white/black. I may not put that logo on there, but I love the old skool 70's style of it!

IMG_2219 by Mary Mack & Mark, on Flickr