Master cylinder Question

jonwright

surfing and motorcycles.... yup
So I'm thinking about replacing my seized mc with this one i found online. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Front-Brake-Master-Cylinder-Honda-CB400-92-98-/160635516915?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item25669f77f3#ht_5683wt_948
It says it's for a 92-98 cb400, I have a 74 cb360. I just want to make sure I'm not throwing my money away if I get it. It's not much more than the cost of a rebuild kit so if this will work I think it's worth my money yea? Any way I'm a total newbie to this so please help me out. I have read on here that it's the piston size that matters, but I can't seem to find the piston size on this model, but I am guessing if it's for a cb400, there is a good shot this would work. Help me out, what do you guys think?

i can't find that model so i can't check the bore. it may be a u.s. model so perhaps someone else will chime in with what the bore is on that. the stock bore is 14mm so any master with that bore should work. a smaller bore master *may* not move enough fluid to properly actuate the caliper and a larger bore may not have much 'feel' to it, but i'm not sure it's as sensitive as some people say. if the bore on that was 12.7 or 15 i bet it would still work. i used a 12.7 with my CB360 front end and it seems perfect:
cff1_10.jpeg

this vendor has other cheap masters as well http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FRONT-BRAKE-MASTER-CYLINDER-XS400-XJ600-SECA-SRX600-/120770490445?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item1c1e7b704d