Gearbox/transmission Oil

tylermoney

Too fast to live. Too young to die.
Hey there,

I'm new to this whole "bike mechanic" thing and I'm trying to slowly learn. I have a friend that works on bikes a lot, and is very helpful, but he also have 3 kids. So, since it's 10pm I figured I'd ask on here. It might be kind of a stupid question, but that's how I'm going to learn.

It's my understanding that I need to check/change the Gearbox oil from time to time. The Yamaha RD350 Owners manual lists it as a necessary maintenance step; however, I'm not finding out in there any more specific detail than that.

I guess first off, is "gearbox oil" and "transmission oil" referring to the same thing? It seems to be. If it's not, what's the difference, and do I need to check/maintain oil levels for both of them?

It's the little cap on the right side of the engine near the kick starter... at least, that's where you "check" or "fill" the oil when it's needed. From my understanding to check the oil level, you should start the bike for a few minutes to let it warm up, then let it cool down and wait for a few minutes before checking the oil. The dip stock is not very helpful either. It's black, has a a couple lines on the very bottom w/o any words. Now, I'm assuming between those two lines is where you want to be.... then again, it's sorta confusing because the space between the lines isn't very big, and it doesn't go up very high on the dipstick.

I guess I'm just looking for more info on maintaining the proper oil levels outside of the premix I'm running on my RD350. The info in the manual isn't seeming to give me what I need, or I can't find it. Anyways, any information on maintenance for the RD350 oil levels would be very helpful. As this is my first bike, and I want it to stay with me for a long long time, I'd like to have a very clear understanding of how to take care of it. Thanks in advance for any information.

Place bike on level ground
Remove dipstick and clean it