1979 CM400T Half-cafe

onetruepunk87

Been Around the Block
I've been lurking around this site for about a year now and finally bought a bike back in December, a 1979 Honda CM400T. This is my first build as well as my first bike so it's taken me a little bit of time to get some stuff done. Luckily I have a brother who rides and a dad who let's me use his garage/tools. Here's a picture of what it looked like when I got it home.

2011-12-19_19-13-06_111.jpg

So far here's a list of what I've done in the past few months, in no particular order;
-changed oil
-changed spark plugs
-changed brake fluid
-replaced battery
-rebuilt electric starter
-cleaned off 30+ years of rust/oxidation
-replaced seized choke cable
-replaced tail light
-replaced turn signals
-replaced handlebars (stock ones were huge, ended up using brothers old KZ400 bars)
-fixed side covers (both had a broken tab)
-fixed exhaust studs on each side (drilled and tapped 2 new studs, PO had it rigged)
-ditched the straight pipes for mufflers given to me by PO
-heat painted headers and mufflers
-painted frame

I probably left some things out.

Here's what the bike looks like now

2012-03-26_14-22-54_438.jpg

It really doesn't look like that much of a difference for all the hours of work I've put into it, hopefully with some of the money coming my way from Uncle Sam I'll be able to get more done to it. I just got a new H4 headlight and bucket from DCC and some brand new Duro tires (http://www.bikebandit.com/duro-hf261a-motorcycle-tire) I'll be putting on this weekend. I'll probably repaint the wheels while I have them off as well.

I got a lot of cleaning done when I first got it thanks to the mild winter here in the northeast

before
2011-12-28_12-53-02_176-1.jpg

after
2011-12-28_13-20-55_133-1.jpg

before
2011-12-24_15-27-47_224-1.jpg

after
2011-12-28_20-43-01_561-1.jpg

before
2011-12-20_21-27-06_872-1.jpg

after
2011-12-20_22-27-39_742-1.jpg