Nixon tries to fly

Flugtechnik

My bike is not transportation, it is a respite
I know I design airplanes for a living, but I didn't expect Nixon to try and fly too. :)

I laid my bike down last night on the way back from The Meltdown vintage bike show in Hendersonville NC. I was riding with two guys I had never ridden with before on a road I'd never been on before. I spent most of the time trying to keep up with them (a XS650 and a 400f). I was riding outside my comfort zone. Bad idea.

I came in too fast on a right turn. I tried to brake but I was already in the turn. I leaned it more but my foot was dragging on the ground. I went wide and hit the shoulder on the opposite side. I immediately lowsided and started sliding in the dirt/grass. Just when I thought I was about to stop I started tumbling. What I found out later was that I had just slide off of a cliff. It wasn't a vertical drop but it was very steep.

After tumbling about 30-40 feet down some large rocks I finally stopped when I hit one especially big one. I'm going from memory here because I don't have the pics from the scene yet, but will post them.

The guys I was riding with came down to see how I was. There was also a doctor and his wife bicycling there and he came down too. To my surprise I seemed alright. My right shoulder was sore and my left ankle. After about 10 minutes, the adrenaline started wearing off and I tried to get them to help me crawl back up but they wouldn't let me and made me wait for the paramedics. I wish they had because it was going to be about 3 hours before I got out.

Where I went down was fairly remote so it took about 20-30 minutes for a rescue team to show up. After they checked me out I again asked to help me crawl out but they wouldn't let me. They said that due to the nature of the accident they were going to immobilize me and haul me out.