Howdy

ILoveThumpers

Everywhere is thumpers!
It occurred to me that I haven't introduced myself...

First i want to say I am STOKED to find this place... I just got back from a bike show with 100+ bikes and there wasn't a single Cafe racer there... I'm all alone in a sea of HD's and Victorys here in Illiana!

So I've been riding since I was 16. Hondas mostly; CB's. I'm just getting back to it since college, wife, kids, career, etc... My father in law gave me a Suzuki GN400 to play with and while I'm just going to ride it this season, I'm going to do a tear-down and rebuild this winter.

There's just something about carbureted, kick-start single-cylinder bikes that is refreshing... no sensors, ONE carburetor and it'll still run if the battery is dead! ;D

My dad was a body/paint man at a Chrysler dealership for years and I picked up a fair bit from him. I also embarked on my own powder coating adventure a few years ago so I have some good experience there as well. I'm an electronics geek and spend most of my day behind a keyboard and a bit of my time at home behind a soldering iron. Basically the only skills I don't have are the hard mechanical stuff and welding... that's what friends are for!

Anyway, like I said, I'm really excited to meet you like-minded folks here and I hope I can give as good as I get. (Advice that is.)

-Deek

Hey neighbor, Congrats on the Zookie project and welcome aboard!
Saw your comment on "Bulldog" so I know you have good taste, interested to see what you do with the GN400.
Being an electronics guy will be a benifit... most here hate electrical issues.

Thanks, everyone! I've always liked bigger bikes but its time to do something smaller. (not that a 400cc single is really all that small) but it's a far cry from the 750's and 1000's I usually ride.