Complete newbie from Indiana, going on a journey.

JCrimson

Hello, my name is Jake.
I'm from north eastern Indiana, and have stumbled through the internet to finally end up here. I have a couple of questions.

A little bit about myself, I'm a student at a local university studying Graphic Design and Webpage Design. I've been an avid mechanic ever since I learned that fixing your own vehicles is much more rewarding and that most mechanics I feel, can't be trusted. I've dealt mostly with repairing automobiles from transfer case swaps, alternators, starters, and everything in between. But now I've got this itch to do something a little more unique and while still living at home, space is limited so a rat rod is out of the question.

While attempting to sell my uncles 1977' MG MGB for him, we got onto the topic of cafe style motorcycles. I've never ridden a motorcycle, but have always wanted to learn as well as ride something a little more unique. He mentioned that he still owned a 1967' Honda 305 Scrambler up in Iowa that he had to leave behind when he moved (10 years ago). He told me if I wanted to go get the bike (10 hour trip, one way) that I could have it. From talking to him about the bike, the bike is 3/4 of the way complete towards a "restoration" that he had been working on. In general, I am unsure of the condition of it especially after 10 years of it sitting in a friends garage.

My main question for you all, is there any way the bike would fit in the back of a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited? Is purchasing a hitch carrier a reasonable idea? Originally, my uncle said the bike was in pieces. But from talking to him about it, I believe it is in a rolling condition.

I look forward to pestering you all! :D

-Jake