1977 XS500 Project. Will move under it's own power one of these days!

Darmstro

Been Around the Block
I've been slowly working on this bike for the past ~3 months. It's my first project bike so progress is slow as I'm learning as I go.

I'll start from the VERY beginning. Here's the bike in its previous owner's garage. I snagged both of those bike for $400
aa82_20.jpg

Got'er to my place and in its new home till spring
Picture004-1.jpg

Picture012.jpg

Picture009-1.jpg

Picture008-1.jpg

Started removing parts...
Picture003.jpg

Picture004.jpg

Picture008.jpg

Re: 1977 XS500 Project- My First Cafe Build

Parts, parts, and more parts. My corner of the garage.
Picture023.jpg

Vroom^2
Picture002-4.jpg

Spare tank, RIP
Picture001-3.jpg

Stripped the tank and started polishing it.
Picture001-5.jpg

Got the tank almost done and cut the spare tank for the seat
Picture008-3.jpg

It was gonna end up sitting a little high so I cut it down after I stripped it. Got started on the seat pan and cut a little more of the seat to shorten it and make it more even with the tank.
Picturewww.jpg

Got the seat where I want it, set on the seat pan, and put the side covers in place to get a rough idea of what she's gonna look like.
Picturewww001.jpg

I still need to brace the seat pan as the metal is flimsy. I'll probably just use that one as a template and redo it on some heavier guage steel.

That's my step-dad's Hardley in the background. <whispers>midlife crisis</whispers>

I'll be interested in how your build goes as I am doing an XS750 right now.

ha ha ha man that is SICK! great work... i got a XT500 going right now... love the tank shape that 77' has! man very cool bike, love the mags!!! you got a ton of parts there if there is anything that you are not going to use man let me get some dibbs on some of that :) ha ha ha