motorcycle inspections in North Carolina

ultimatefiend138

Seeing how I'm a licensed inspector in Durham county, I figured I could share what I know. I'll run through the procedure and exactly what equipment is needed and what you can scrape by with. Keep in mind that if your bike is 35 years old or better, it does not need to be inspected in the state of North Carolina. If the shop you take it to does a proper and thorough inspection, your bike will be lifted. Motorcycles have to have all the same safety equipment as any other passenger vehicle. These items include good tires, mirrors, horn, head and tail lights, good brakes and front ends. If all these things are in good working order, your vehicle will pass inspection. Tires will fail if there is less than 2/32 of tread left on the tire. Dry rotting and weather cracking could fail but that is up to the inspectors discretion. Basically if you're inspector is feeling like a dick that particular day he or she will probably fail you for dry rot. Brakes may fail if they squeal and there is nothing left on the linings. On the bright side you only need to have one brake, either hand or foot operated. Lights all have to be in good working order but cannot have any cracks in the lenses or allow for sitting water in them. Head lights also have to be properly aimed. You don't need to have turn signals on motorcycles. All lights also have to be securely mounted. You do however do have to have a functional tag light. Mufflers also have to be in good working order. Since most of our bikes are "custom" I wouldn't be too concerned about this but if you're running stock, you have to have your baffles in place and can't have any exhaust leaks. That's pretty much it. If you have any questions or concerns about anything, feel free to drop me a line and post pics too and I'll let you know if I'd let it pass, I'm pretty much an ass when it comes to safety inspections so I'll head you in the right direction.