collapse

www.dimecitycycles.com


www.restocycle.com

www.CITYLIMITMOTO.com

www.jadusmotorcycleparts.com

www.bisonmotorsports.com

www.speedmotoco.com

www.cognitomoto.com

www.townmoto.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.Moto-Madness.com

www.pistonsociety.com

www.steeltowngarage.com

QUESTIONS ABOUT THE SITE? TROUBLE REGISTERING? ADMIN@DOTHETON.COM

Author Topic: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750  (Read 36175 times)

Offline XS750AU

  • Posts: 330
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #120 on: Sep 03, 2016, 05:31:37 »
Just shows you can F anything up if you try hard enough.
I made up a manometer today, to balance the carbies on my 750 (manometer worked well - cost $6). The tune was OK, by using a feeler gauge, but I thought the manometer would be better.
Got it balanced and running well. Then I made my mistake. It was a little rich when stating, so I played with the idle screws. 1/4 of a turn at a time but I have managed to bugger it up and now it sounds like yours Ryan!!!!!!!
Just shows if the balance and idle screws are out it will not run. I think I have driven the neighbours mad, so I am giving it a break and will get everything back to standard and start again tomorrow.
Cheers
Tim
“Engineering is the art of being approximately right rather than exactly wrong.”

Yamaha XS750-2D
Yamaha XS896
Husaberg FE550
Yamaha TT250
Yamaha IT200N

Offline Ryan Stecken

  • DTT SUPPORTER
  • *
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
  • *
  • Posts: 1783
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #121 on: Sep 04, 2016, 14:52:33 »
Hey tim!

I was lucky enough to aquire a Triumph Triple Carb for a reasonable price from the UK.I think I won't bother messing around with the stock carbs.
Will wait for them.
Put some pods on the stock carbs though,2 1/2 turns out...still just fires up cylinder3.
I will however in the meantime investigatr in my other electrical issues.

No lights,rear and front,no idiot lights,no blinkers.

Cleaned up the ground on the frame,fuses are all ok.
Am I missing something?
Are there more grounds on the frame?



Gesendet von meinem SM-A310F mit Tapatalk

Offline der_nanno

  • Posts: 253
  • Faster!
    • Greasy Greg
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #122 on: Sep 08, 2016, 20:02:50 »
Now I am not an expert, but that cut off plug... that's three phases, plus, ground and a sensing wire. Or in other words unless you have a magic reg/rect-unit in there, that'll have a VERY hard time doing anything. 8)
Real freedom starts with the freedom of thought.

My Blog:
http://greasygreg.blogspot.co.at

My Turbo TR1.1 (XV1000) build here on DTT:
http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=72571

My XS Triple Sidecar build here on DTT:
http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=74211

Offline datadavid

  • Posts: 1151
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #123 on: Sep 09, 2016, 06:40:38 »
Now I am not an expert, but that cut off plug... that's three phases, plus, ground and a sensing wire. Or in other words unless you have a magic reg/rect-unit in there, that'll have a VERY hard time doing anything. 8)
Yes. I wonder why he cut those?

Offline Ryan Stecken

  • DTT SUPPORTER
  • *
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
  • *
  • Posts: 1783
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #124 on: Sep 09, 2016, 07:09:06 »
This is the plug of the stock reg rec that is supposedly broken.
I didnt take the time yet to remove it from the bottom of the battery box.
The new unit is plugged in (had to use a different modern plug for the new unit).

Gesendet von meinem SM-A310F mit Tapatalk


Offline der_nanno

  • Posts: 253
  • Faster!
    • Greasy Greg
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #125 on: Sep 10, 2016, 12:11:20 »
... and you should mention that it only took about 3 minutes to find the reason, why it didn't run on all threes...  ;D

(Brake-cleaner is pretty awesome as a fault finding tool, don't you think?)  8)
Real freedom starts with the freedom of thought.

My Blog:
http://greasygreg.blogspot.co.at

My Turbo TR1.1 (XV1000) build here on DTT:
http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=72571

My XS Triple Sidecar build here on DTT:
http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=74211

Offline datadavid

  • Posts: 1151
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #126 on: Sep 10, 2016, 13:59:33 »
... and you should mention that it only took about 3 minutes to find the reason, why it didn't run on all threes...  ;D

(Brake-cleaner is pretty awesome as a fault finding tool, don't you think?)  8)
Leaky seals? :)

Offline Ryan Stecken

  • DTT SUPPORTER
  • *
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
  • *
  • Posts: 1783
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #127 on: Sep 10, 2016, 15:32:33 »
Mr.Nanno used brake cleaner to check if his assumption was right that my idle system is clogged...i will check when I'm back on the bike.
Idles are too small too.
Like you stated early data 45's are in the ballpark.guess somebidy messed around with them.

Gesendet von meinem SM-A310F mit Tapatalk


Offline datadavid

  • Posts: 1151
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #128 on: Sep 10, 2016, 19:29:34 »
Mr.Nanno used brake cleaner to check if his assumption was right that my idle system is clogged...i will check when I'm back on the bike.
Idles are too small too.
Like you stated early data 45's are in the ballpark.guess somebidy messed around with them.

Gesendet von meinem SM-A310F mit Tapatalk

It would run anyhow, as long as the jets are clean. I upped my pilots because i run full open exhaust, oval pods, and 896cc with high comp head. My stockish 750 ran perfect with stock pilots.
I would advice you to be 100% sure your existing carbs are clean and flowing what they are supposed to Before you start buying jets 👍
Also verify the jet sizes currently installed first. Life gets easier with some method to the madness 😊

Offline Ryan Stecken

  • DTT SUPPORTER
  • *
  • DTT BOTM WINNER
  • *
  • Posts: 1783
Re: Project "walrus" Yam XS 750
« Reply #129 on: Sep 11, 2016, 06:29:29 »
Late night carb cleaning.

Jets and passages were clean.
Blow trough all orifices and jets,even the idles were clean.
I have no idea why there 17.5s idles in this carb....
Will swap for 42.5's and see what happens (manual says 42.5 should be stock).
Cylinder 1 float was maladjusted.
Do I measure float height with or without the float bowl gasket on the carb?

Thanks in advance!

Gesendet von meinem SM-A310F mit Tapatalk