www.cognitomoto.com

https://www.townmoto.com/collections/vanson-leathers

www.speedmotoco.com

www.CITYLIMITMOTO.com

www.jadusmotorcycleparts.com

www.lostapostlejewelry.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.pistonsociety.com

Author Topic: XS400 cafe build  (Read 2849 times)

Offline sandmanred

XS400 cafe build
« on: Mar 29, 2019, 08:33:07 »
I've been lurking for awhile.  Lots of nice work on this forum.  I'm relatively new to motorcycles so I definitely need help with with all the mechanics and where to get stuff.  This is my 3rd build.  I've posted elsewhere in hopes of getting the tech support I need and I'm not always getting what I need.  So I'm making a catch up post to cover since last November.

Bought a not running 78 XS400.  A little carb cleaning and point setting and a clutch rebuild and it was running.  Started with the bars, then the tank then the seat.  Actually made a little detour to make a tail cowl but then got asked why my bike only have one seat?  So, finish the detour and start a seat for two.  I left the detour out for now.  I may go back later and do a seat to go with the tail but probably not right away.  As it stands now it's ready for shakedown, just need some warmer weather.

The big question right now is the best upgrade for the head light.  It still has the stock 35w incandescent bulb.  Seems like the easiest is to go to an H4 35w but I'm not finding anyway to do it without changing the whole bucket.  The Emgo one I found says it's compatible but the hole on the back is much lower than stock and I'm not sure all the wires will reach.  The stock reflector and bulb assembly has special gear to adjust the beam that you don't find on standard replacement reflectors.  I'd be open to LED conversion head lamp but then you run into the same problem not having all the gear on the reflector to mount into the stock bucket.  Any advice welcome.

Offline brad black

Re: XS400 cafe build
« Reply #2 on: Mar 29, 2019, 09:10:44 »
that's just showing off.