CB450 project started "Brownie"

pbussey

Stifled...
Since I'm new to the whole older bike scene, and bikes in general, this is my short term project to get the bike "reliable"

My FINAL goals are to have a cool little cafe bike to ride around town on. Inspiration is coming heavily from Mysta2's bike.

Here's how old brownie started out
img1089m.jpg

inside the tank... ew..
img1097.jpg

Started the teardown
img1103r.jpg

to find this in the right carb...
img1101m.jpg

img1102.jpg

best thing you can do for the OE CV carbs is replace them with Mikuni VM series....32-34mm.

Well, The fuel tank no longer looks like a brownie ;D Sent it to work with my dad to stick it in a dip tank at the airport, which worked really well for cleaning out the inside, but didn't remove decals at all... Turns out, this tank has been cut open and rewelded before, making rust removal a non-issue. Still, it's getting POR-15'ed as we speak.
img1107z.jpg

img1108.jpg

What do you guys think? I think I want it to be brushed look with clear over it, or flat black.
img1111.jpg

Pulled the stator cover off and gave it a nice refurbishing...
before
img1110.jpg

after
img1114.jpg

Got the ignition cylinder bracket and toolbox stripped and painted today. These were REALLY rusty, and now they are primed and painted with the most overkill paint for these two parts :p
img1105u.jpg

Got a new chain for it today too. Tomorrow will be testing out a chrome-friendly rust removal method I've used on bicycles before

UPDATE! new parts have arrived!

So the spokes on these wheels are Ruuuuuussstyy! They look like they are still fine to ride on, but they definitely are not worth trying to refinish; just too much pitting there. I got the old (OEM! what a pain!) tires off the bike and my new ones came in. Not period correct, but they should have some nasty grip for the street.
img1122t.jpg

As she sits now
img1120j.jpg