My first project 1983 Yamaha sr 500

Roiber

Been Around the Block
Hello everyone!

This is my first Project and its also my first motorcycle!

Im thinking about to make a brat style look!

the bike has 68000 kilometers. It will need new tires for sure... new seat..breaks and stuff like that..
I NEED YOUR HELP PEOPLE!!!! cause i dont know many things about motorcycle..

One thing ive noticed is that the strear is a bit crooked (i dont know the exact word..) but i hope you understand.

when you drive you need to turn the strear 1 cm to the left lets say to keep the bike strait. You think this is a major proble or expencive to fix?

id like to apologise for my english..but im trying my best :D

any suggestions are welcome!

here are some pics

DSC00555.jpg

DSC00556.jpg

DSC00557.jpg

DSC00558.jpg

DSC00560.jpg

DSC00552.jpg

The front forks may be tweaked out of position or a fork tube bent. Try putting the front wheel against a pole and forcing it back into position.

Or to check on bent top tubes, while on the centerstand or some sort of jack, loosen the bolts on the triple clamps till the tubes can be rotated by hand. Try rotating each tube all the way around 360 degrees. If the tube binds up and can't be rotated, it may be bend and need straightened or replaced. If both tubes rotate around without bind, you just need to straighten up the bars to the wheel.

To straighten up the bars to wheel, with the triple clamp bolts still loose, stand in front of the bike and clamp your knees on the wheel, then pull the bars until the wheel aligns perpendicular to the bars. Tighten up the triple clamp bolts.

Some advice on those cases. Take them off and wetsand them down with 600 grit, then 1000 or 1500 grit wet/dry sand paper. Then polish them with alloy polish like Simichrome. Or if you like the brushed look, just work them over with a Scotch Brite pad to get the marks aligned as you want. I filed the Yamaha logo off, sanded, and polished them them on my SR500 .