New member and first cafe build

jsedacca

Been Around the Block
Hey guys,
Been lurking here for a couple weeks in anticipation of the new project. With winter approaching, I decided on a new winter project. I've been doing automotive race prep work for many years now on BMWs and decided to give a motorcycle a shot. I picked up this 75 CB360 on tuesday with 5500 miles on it. It fired right up but was not road worthy as the front caliper was sticking and brake fluid resembled a gelatinous goo. The first day was disassembly and taking inventory on what was going to be replaced. I snagged a benellie mojave tank as they have a great shape and have quite big knee dents which I'll need being 6'3. Today I cut off excess brackets, smoothed them out, mounted the tank and cut off the backside of the frame and welded in a 1" piece of 4130 chromo tube as a brace. I have a bunch of parts coming in from various vendors. I don't plan on tearing down the motor. Just want to clean the exterior of it and replace the stripped bolts with polished allens. I'm still deciding on a color scheme but am thinking something like a copper/dark bronze frame with olive drab tank/seat would be sharp. Enough of the blabber, here are the pics of the bike the day I picked it up and where it sits now with the tank mocked up. Thanks guys and any helpful tips/guidance/advice is always appreciated.

Jared

I actually did NOT get it off ebay. I saw the one on there but would not be around for the closing of the auction. I contacted Joe at vintagecosmo.com as he has many of them in stock. He was 20mins south of where I picked up the bike so it was a productive trip.

Tristan said:
How are you going about mounting that thing?