1978 Honda CB 125 Single dustbin build

Blake

the future is my friend
Well, I picked this up off CL for $200. About 90% complete sans gaskets, bearings, and some rusty bits. Gonna keep this super simple as it's my first build. Gonna make a track bike, so I'll bypass as much as I can with electrics. I don't really have time until August to work on it, but for $200, I couldn't pass it up. PO stripped it down, sanded, polished, painted most everything. Engine looks pretty shot, but everything is there. Parts for a cb125 are shockingly cheap, but I'll still probably drop some $$ to get this thing right.

IMG_1718.jpg

Re: New project: 1978 CB 125 cafe

Good luck! I am doing something similar with a Kawasaki 100cc. I will be watching your progress with much interest! If we lived closer we could race them!

Love the shape of the tank, and the seat looks to match it well!

$200?! You made out like a bandit!

Let us know if you need any help.

that tank and cafe tail are worth the 200 alone if they were brand new, ,,,, dang...
whats the specs on that sweet race tank?
i have a rusty pinholed b125 tank and i would love to replace it but all i seem to find are big huge race tanks that one looks like it might fit on there shmoove.
let me know if there is any way to id it or if you wanna get rid of it. i may have some/a part or two for trade. i am building a 1974 cb125 called "nameless" on here as well.
congrats on the purchase.
dang

Re: New project: 1978 CB 125 cafe *BUCKET*

The tank is a fantastic size, as well as the seat. The PO built both to fit the 125 frame like a glove. The tank looks good in the pictures but it is far far far from perfect. Gonna need to be plugged in several places and I'll have to be smooth as a baker icing a cake with all the Bondo I'll need to fix it. The seat is good. It will need some extra bracing so my butt doesn't squash it.