'83 KZ440D Cafe/Brat Build

trolltoll14

I started riding last summer. Bought an old KZ440 to learn on and once it got cold and it was time to put it up for the winter I decided to try my hand at motorcycle modification. Since this is my first build I would appreciate any feedback and suggestions.

So far I have...
Made a seat pan out of fiberglass
Made a mock up of my electrical tray
Panted my tank, frame, swing arm, forks, and belt guard
Started polishing my engine (which I may end up painting black along with my hearders)

I'm hoping by the end of this weekend I will have a roller. The parts have already started trickling in (clip-ons, grips, taillight, speedo, etc.)

Still to come:
Putting in Mikuni carbs and pod filters which means re-jetting.
Installing a 2-into-1 collector and getting a new slip-on.
Construct a new wiring harness.
Cover the seat pan (may end up paying someone to do this. I'm not very useful with a needle).
I am also installing an RFID reader so I can go keyless. Here is the planned wiring harness with RFID included.

Thanks for reading everyone. Let me know what you think.

Attachments

• Start.jpg
    Start.jpg
    2.9 MB · Views: 377
  • Engine Polish.jpg
    Engine Polish.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 335
  • Other Parts.jpg
    Other Parts.jpg
    3.9 MB · Views: 314
  • Frame Painted.jpg
    Frame Painted.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 313
  • Tank.jpeg
    Tank.jpeg
    353.8 KB · Views: 306
  • Torn Down.jpg
    Torn Down.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 336
  • Electrical Tray.jpg
    Electrical Tray.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 390
  • Torn Down.jpg
    Torn Down.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 342
  • Seat Pan.jpg
    Seat Pan.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 381
  • Seat Pan Taped.jpg
    Seat Pan Taped.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 368
Welcome. Seems you are on your way. Red frames are bold statements. I dig it. Aint doing it but yours looks good.