Forever ongoing CB400F project

Rat400F

Been Around the Block
I thought I'd start adding pictures and info about what I'm doing. I bought a CB400F that had already been modified to resemble vintage cafe racer style. The seat was already done and the battery compartment had already been opened up.
I'm planing:
1.Powder coating hubs and lacing them with aluminum rims
2.I have a second motor I currently disassembling that will be getting the big bore kit and yoshi exhaust
3.I am making my own rearsets
4.I'm looking for different levers/master cyclinder/buttons and what have ya to clean up the front end.
I'm also going to replace every bolt or part that I can to make the bike as vintage looking as possible but with new technology. Some vintage aspects will be passed on for the sake of better performance/ handling.
I'm totally new to working on motorcycles but not riding. I've ridden since I was about 12 but I've never really had a bike that I wanted to customize.

IMG_5109.jpg

IMG_5106.jpg

IMG_5101.jpg

IMG_5102.jpg

IMG_5103.jpg

When I got the bike it had clubmans on it but I I changed them out to clip-ons, these ones, http://guzzino.com/tahicl.html, well not exactly those ones. The ones I got are the short rise of those.
I then got these bar end mirrors http://www.oberon-performance.co.uk/acatalog/Bar_End_Mirrors.html
I didn't like the way they bolted on so I had a friend weld some metal into the end of the bars and I tapped them to fit a bolt.
IMG_4960.jpg

I had to cut a part off the housing but now they bolt right into the end of the bar instead of using the pinch bolt they came with. Much better attachment IMO.
Here's the finished look.

IMG_5113.jpg

I'm making my own rearsets because I want to be able to use the kick start and leave the starter off. I also want to do something different with the pegs themselves. Here's the layout of the brackets that the pegs will bolt to.
IMG_5112.jpg

IMG_5111.jpg

valvesprung said: